Son of Chamber Symphony


Commissioned by Stanford University, Carnegie Hall and the San Francisco Ballet. First concert performance: November 30, 2007, Stanford University, Alarm Will Sound conducted by Alan Pierson. Choreographed version (titled Joyride) by Mark Morris, first performed by San Francisco Ballet, April 23, 2008.

Duration: 22 minutes

Instrumentation: Flute (also plays piccolo); oboe; clarinet; bass clarinet; bassoon; horn; trumpet; trombone; piano (also plays celesta), 2 percussionists (one also playing keyboard sampler); 2 violins, viola, cello, bass. Note: a sampled celesta may be used in place of a real one.

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes

↑ Return to top of page


Copyright © 2015 by John Adams
All rights reserved